Home » Other » Why You Need A DUI Attorney When You Have A DUI Case
Why You Need A DUI Attorney When You Have A DUI Case
No one can argue that driving under the influence of alcohol is very dangerous. In fact, many of the road accidents happen because intoxicated drivers go behind the wheel. Different countries have already passed laws or measures to penalize those who drive after consuming an amount of alcohol or even drugs that is beyond the limit that the law has defined.
The United States, for example, have DUI laws already in place. But these DUI laws vary from one state to another. It is best to read up on the laws of the state to know what are the allowable limits and the penalties for DUI.
If you are from Denver, then you might this article useful since we will discuss the DUI law and the need for a Denver DUI attorney.
DUI and DWAI in Denver
The state law categorizes alcohol related driving offenses into two; Driving under the Influence of Alcohol or Drugs (DUI) and Driving While Ability is Impaired (DWAI). These two categorizations are based on the BAC or blood alcohol concentration.
Law enforcers will measure the BAC or the level of concentration of alcohol found in the driver’s body shortly after consuming alcoholic drinks.
For Denver or the entire Colorado state, the allowable limit by the law is 0.08 percent for drivers above 21 years of age and 0.02 percent for drivers below 21 years of age. And 0.05% BAC limit for cases of DWAI.
Take note that Denver is very strict when it comes to enforcing their laws and as such those caught for DUI or DWAI will need to get the services of a DUI attorney in Denver, Colorado.
Those who are pulled over by law enforcers will be asked to take the roadside sobriety exam. The test could include standing on one leg for a timed period while officers throw their questions or walking in a straight line, among others.
Those who fail the roadside sobriety test will be arrested, read their rights and taken to either a city or county jail. The vehicle will be towed.
Of course, those arrested can make a phone call to a member of their family or a lawyer.
The punishment for DWAI and DUI also vary.
First-time offenders of DWAI will be fined somewhere $200 to $500 and can face up to 180 days of prison time. The offender will also have to render a maximum of 48 hours of community service.
On the other hand, first-time offenders of DUI will have their license revoked for nine months and will be asked to pay a fine of $600 to $1000. First-time offenders of DUI can also face prison time of one year, community service of up to 96 hours. They will also have to attend alcohol education seminars.
Succeeding violations will be met with stiffer penalties including jail time and fines. In addition, law enforcers may even require casual repeat offenders to have an ignition interlock device in the vehicle. The ignition interlock device prevents the car from turning on when it detects that some alcohol in the breath of the driver. Offenders will also be reprimanded for trying to start the ignition after having consumed alcohol.
Cost of DUI and DWAI
Drinking and driving will hurt the pockets of anyone caught doing it. Aside from the fines that will be imposed, violators will also spend for other expenses such as fees of the Denver DUI attorney, license processing fees to obtain the license after revocation, fees on probation supervision, among others. It would even be more expensive if an accident happened as the violator will have to pay for the damages of the structure like vehicle or road structures, hospital bills plus insurance fees.
The government definitely makes it difficult for drivers to drink and drive.